PDF flipbook with private password protection

You can set your online PDF flipbook to "Public" or "Private", i.e. you can decide who has access to it.

 

The default setting is always "Public"; therefore if you wish your publication to be "Private" you will have to activate this feature. In order to do this, use the "Privacy" tab within a publications "Settings"

Privacy settings for your flipbook in Paperturn

 

 

Once set to "Private", there are two methods in which you can allow viewers to access your flipbook:

    1. Using a username and password

    2. Using their IP-address

 

 

1. Setting up a username and password

The first thing you must do is activate this method (as shown below) and then insert a username and password of your choice.

Setting up a Username and Password for flipbook's privacy

 

 

2. Enabling access from specific IP-addresses

Again, you must first activate this method (as shown below) and then insert the IP-addresses of those you wish to give access to. You can enter a combination of specific IPs, wildcard ranges and set ranges (separated by a comma) to whitelist.


For example:

83.200.100.120, 83.200.100.*, 83.200.100.100-120

1) Single IP address: 83.200.100.120 (only this IP will be whitelisted) 


2) Wildcard IP addresses: 83.200.100.* (all IPs on this range will be whitelisted: 83.200.100.1 - 83.200.100.255)


3) Set IP ranges: 83.200.100.100-120 (Only IPs between 83.200.100.100 and 83.200.100.120 will be whitelisted)


4) Wildcards and ranges are only accepted on the last block of the single IP.


5) Only IPv4 are currently supported.

Domains are not accepted. This feature is only for use with publicly visible IPs (for example 127.0.0.1 will not work)

 

Enabling Access from specific ip-aderesses

 

Changing your flipbook back to public

If you wish to remove the "Private" setting and make your flipbook "Public" again, simply click "Set this publication as public" as shown below: 

Set the flipbook privacy as public again

 

Please note: Always remember to click  "Save Changes" after any changes you make, to ensure your flipbooks new settings are stored and updated.

 

 

How to make your flipbook private

Create your flipbook now - no strings attached START MY FREE TRIAL